Quick Overview: Yes, federal health information describes possibilities that can include individual appointments, group sessions, and therapist-provided help at a distance. In SAMHSA’s description of outpatient treatment, standard appointments are one type of outpatient care, while intensive outpatient or partial hospitalization can include one-on-one appointments and group sessions. NIMH explains that some digital care involves a therapist providing help at a distance. These sources provide general information only. They do not establish which services a particular practice currently offers, which format is available for a listed service, or what may fit an individual person.
When people look for outpatient therapy options, similar terms can refer to different parts of mental-health care. It can help to distinguish between a federal source’s general description, a practice’s listed services, and questions that remain unanswered until a direct conversation.
What SAMHSA Says About Outpatient Treatment
SAMHSA describes outpatient care as care in which a person has an appointment and leaves the same day. On its page about types of treatment, SAMHSA describes two main types of outpatient care within that treatment context.
The first type is described as being like a standard doctor’s visit. SAMHSA says this type is best for people who can make and keep regular appointments and that visit frequency depends on the care needed.
The second type is intensive outpatient or partial hospitalization. SAMHSA states that this type can include one-on-one appointments, group sessions, and learning about coping skills. The source also says these programs coordinate care more intensively than standard visits and usually last for at least a few hours.
These descriptions do not establish that every outpatient service is psychotherapy. They also do not establish that every outpatient setting includes one-on-one appointments, groups, coping-skills learning, or the same program structure.
Standard Appointments Are Part of SAMHSA’s Outpatient Description
SAMHSA’s standard-appointment description offers one way to understand the term “outpatient” in its treatment information. It does not define every individual therapy appointment or describe the details of an appointment at a specific practice.
NIMH explains that psychotherapy, also called talk therapy, refers to a variety of treatments intended to help a person identify and change troubling emotions, thoughts, and behaviors. NIMH also notes that therapists may use one primary approach or incorporate elements from multiple approaches depending on their training, the disorder being treated, and the needs of the person receiving treatment.
A service page may use words such as “individual therapy” or “outpatient care,” but those words alone do not answer questions about approach, goals, schedule, or current availability.
Individual Appointments Can Be Included in Intensive Outpatient Care
SAMHSA states that intensive outpatient or partial hospitalization can include one-on-one appointments. This supports a plain answer to part of the approved question: individual appointments can be included in the outpatient treatment description on that SAMHSA page.
The source does not state that every individual therapy appointment is intensive outpatient care. It also does not state that every outpatient program includes individual therapy.
Rooted Integrative Therapy lists individual therapy among its services. The verified practice facts do not describe the content, schedule, or current availability of that service. They also do not connect the practice’s individual therapy to SAMHSA’s intensive outpatient description.
Group Sessions Can Be Included in Intensive Outpatient Care
SAMHSA also states that group sessions can be included in intensive outpatient or partial hospitalization. This supports a plain answer to another part of the approved question: group sessions can be included in that form of outpatient treatment.
That statement does not mean that every outpatient program offers group therapy. It does not identify the purpose or structure of a particular group, and it does not establish whether a group is currently available at a particular practice.
Rooted Integrative Therapy lists group therapy among its services. The verified practice facts do not provide details about particular groups or current offerings.
Practice Note: Rooted Integrative Therapy lists individual therapy, couples therapy, group therapy, and therapy intensives among its services. It offers in-person therapy near Orem and Provo, with virtual therapy across Utah. The available practice facts do not establish which listed services are currently available or whether each service is offered in each format.
What NIMH Says About Therapist Help at a Distance
NIMH explains that telephones, the internet, and mobile devices have created additional opportunities for treatment. Some digital approaches involve a therapist providing help at a distance. NIMH distinguishes these approaches from web-based programs and mobile apps that are designed to provide information and feedback without a therapist.
This supports a plain answer to the final part of the approved question: care can involve a therapist providing help at a distance. NIMH’s information does not define “therapy at a distance” as a formal category, identify a specific psychotherapy approach, or establish the details of a particular appointment.
The distinction between therapist-provided help and a digital resource can be useful when reviewing online information. A respectful question is: Does this service involve a therapist providing help at a distance, or is it a web-based program or mobile app?
Questions That Keep General Information in Context
SAMHSA and NIMH provide general descriptions, not answers about personal fit or clinical outcomes. NIMH notes that a preliminary conversation can help a person understand how treatment will proceed and whether they feel comfortable with a therapist. It suggests questions about the approach used, therapy goals, progress, and a recommended time frame or number of sessions.
Those questions do not describe Rooted Integrative Therapy’s consultation process. They are general questions drawn from NIMH’s discussion of psychotherapy.
Reflection Questions for Outpatient Therapy Options
| Area for reflection | Question to consider | Information to seek |
|---|---|---|
| Outpatient language | What does “outpatient” mean in the information I am reading? | Whether the source is describing standard appointments, intensive outpatient care, or another service. |
| Individual appointments | Am I seeking information about individual therapy? | How a practice describes that service and what information it can provide. |
| Group sessions | What would I want to know about a group therapy service? | Whether current group information is available. |
| Help at a distance | Am I asking whether a therapist provides help at a distance? | How the practice describes the requested format. |
| Therapy planning | What do I want to understand before beginning therapy? | The approach, goals, progress discussions, and any recommended time frame. |
Questions to Bring to a Consultation
- Which services are currently available through the practice?
- How does the practice describe individual therapy?
- Is there current information available about group therapy?
- Is the service I am asking about available in person, at a distance, or both?
- What approach may be used in therapy?
- How may therapy goals and progress be discussed?
Frequently Asked Questions About Outpatient Therapy Options
Can outpatient therapy include individual appointments?
SAMHSA states that intensive outpatient or partial hospitalization can include one-on-one appointments. Its source does not establish that every outpatient service includes individual therapy.
Can outpatient therapy include group sessions?
SAMHSA states that intensive outpatient or partial hospitalization can include group sessions. It does not establish that every outpatient program offers groups.
Can care include a therapist providing help at a distance?
NIMH explains that some digital approaches involve a therapist providing help at a distance. NIMH also describes digital programs and apps that provide information and feedback without a therapist.
Does Rooted Integrative Therapy offer virtual therapy?
Verified practice facts state that Rooted Integrative Therapy offers virtual therapy across Utah and in-person therapy near Orem and Provo. Those facts do not establish virtual availability for every listed service.
Sources and Further Reading
These authoritative resources provide general background for this article:
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration: Types Of Treatment
- National Institute of Mental Health: Psychotherapies
A Grounded Next Step
Rooted Integrative Therapy’s connect page is available at tryrootedtherapy.com/connect.
Please do not include urgent or highly sensitive clinical information in a general inquiry.
This article is for general education only. It is not a diagnosis, treatment plan, or substitute for individualized mental-health care. A qualified mental-health professional can help you consider what fits your circumstances.